Center for Technology-Enhanced Learning

EPICUR: European University for a New Generation

The ZML is involved in the international project of the European university association EPICUR (European Partnership for Innovative Campus Unifying Regions). The aim of EPICUR is to create an attractive, innovative European university for a new generation - a generation that will meet the major social challenges of the future Europe.

Contact person at the ZML
Thomas May
Phone +49 721 608-48208
e-mail: thomas.may∂kit.edu

The European Commission will provide the European University Association EPICUR with five million euros in funding over the next three years. Members of this consortium are the four EUCOR partners in Freiburg, Karlsruhe, Strasbourg and Mulhouse, as well as the universities of Amsterdam, Thessaloniki, Poznań and Vienna (BOKU). The consortium is based on an initiative of the EUCOR universities.

In the additional funding initiative EUN (European University Networks), KIT and the University of Freiburg will fund various priority topics for the next three years. One of the priority topics is the development and use of digital teaching/learning materials. Exemplary for the basic chemical training of the natural science courses at KIT, the project will develop teaching and learning materials that provide students with the necessary basics in an adaptive, self-directed learning process. In cooperation with the Institute for Functional Interfaces (IFG), a supporting course concept will be developed in parallel to the basic lecture in inorganic chemistry. Detailed learning materials as well as test and exercise scenarios accompanying the individual learning process will help the students to get a positive introduction to the chemical basics.

In addition, it is planned to partially virtualize the Inorganic Chemistry Lab, which has so far been largely in attendance. As an inverted lab, phases of the analysis, such as the preparation and post-processing of the individual analyses, will be carried out online. With this transfer, the individual competence to act in the present laboratory phases can be improved.

Zentrum für Mediales Lernen

EPICUR: Europäische Universität für eine neue Generation

Das ZML ist an dem internationalen Projekt des europäischen Hochschulverbundes EPICUR (European Partnership for Innovative Campus Unifying Regions) beteiligt. Bei EPICUR soll eine attraktive, innovative europäische Universität für eine neue Generation geschaffen werden – eine Generation, die sich den großen gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen des künftigen Europas stellen wird.

Ansprechpartner am ZML
Thomas May
Tel. +49 721 608-48208
E-Mail: thomas.may∂kit.edu

Die Europäischen Kommission fördert den europäischen Hochschulverbund EPICUR in den kommenden drei Jahren mit einer Höhe von fünf Millionen Euro. Mitglieder dieses Konsortiums sind die vier EUCOR-Partner in Freiburg, Karlsruhe, Strasbourg und Mulhouse, sowie die Universitäten von Amsterdam, Thessaloniki, Poznań und Wien (BOKU). Der Verbund geht auf eine Initiative der EUCOR-Universitäten zurück.

In der zusätzlichen Förderinitiative EUN (Europäische Hochschulnetzwerke) werden für die kommenden drei Jahre am KIT sowie der Universität Freiburg verschiedene Schwerpunktthemen gefördert. Eines der Schwerpunktthemen ist die Entwicklung und der Einsatz digitaler Lehr-/Lernmaterialien. Exemplarisch für die chemische Grundausbildung der naturwissenschaftlichen Studiengänge am KIT sollen in dem Projekt Lehr- und Lernmaterialien entstehen, welche in einem adaptiven, selbstgesteuerten Lernprozess den Studierenden die notwendigen Grundlagen vermitteln. In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Institut für Funktionelle Grenzflächen (IFG) wird ein unterstützendes Kurskonzept, parallel zur Grundvorlesung in Anorganischer Chemie, entstehen. Vertiefende Lernmaterialien, sowie den individuellen Lernprozess begleitende Test- und Übungsszenarien sollen die Studierenden zu einem positiven Einstieg in die chemischen Grundlagen verhelfen.

Zusätzlich ist geplant, das bislang weitgehend in Präsenz stattfindende Anorganisch-Chemische Praktikum zum Teil zu virtualisieren. Als Inverted-Lab sollen dabei Phasen der Analysendurchführung, wie zum Beispiel die Vor- und Nachbereitung der einzelnen Analysen online durchgeführt werden. Mit diesem Transfer kann die individuelle Handlungskompetenz in den präsenten Laborphasen verbessert werden.